Thursday, July 17, 2008

Cavendish first Brit to cliam 3 stages of the TdF

Isle of Man sprinter Mark Cavendish made cycling history on Thursday when he became the first ever Briton to claim three stage wins in a single edition of the Tour de France.Cavendish dominated a bunch sprint at the end of the race's 167.5km 12th stage, finishing ahead of Frenchman Sébastien Chavanel and Belgian Gert Steegmans.
Are the Brits finally ready to compete on the world stage other than Olympic Sprint?


1 Mark Cavendish (GBr|Team Columbia) 3:40:52
2 Sébastien Chavanel (Fra|Française des Jeux)
3 Gert Steegmans (Bel|Quick Step)
4 Erik Zabel (Ger|Team Milram)
5 Oscar Freire Gomez (Spa|Rabobank)
6 Francesco Chicchi (Ita|Liquigas)
7 Thor Hushovd (Nor|Crédit Agricole)
8 Leonardo Duque (Col|Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone)
9 Julian Dean (NZl|Team Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)
10 Heinrich Haussler (Ger|Gerolsteiner)
11 Robbie McEwen (Aus|Silence - Lotto)
12 Jimmy Casper (Fra|Agritubel)
13 Robert Hunter (RSA|Barloworld)
14 Martin Elmiger (Swi|AG2R La Mondiale)
15 Alessandro Ballan (Ita|Lampre)
16 Kim Kirchen (Lux|Team Columbia)
17 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr|Team Columbia)
18 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa|Bouygues Telecom)
19 Robert Förster (Ger|Gerolsteiner)
20 Cadel Evans (Aus|Silence - Lotto)

No comments: